
  

H A N D I C A P   H I N T S (2024) 

  

T O   P O S T   O R   N O T   T O   P O S T: I S   T H A T   A  Q U E S T I O N? 
  
The success of the math calculation in the USGA Handicap System™ is only as good as the data entered.  Short and Sweet: 

the vast majority of scores are acceptable — there aren’t many good excuses for not entering a score into your record.  

  

The USGA offers various tools for posting acceptable scores: at the course computer, using the GHIN mobile app on your 

smartphone, going to GHIN.com, etc.  

 

A key tenet of the Handicap System is that it is believed that a golfer will try to make the best score at every hole in every 

round. Play 18 holes under the principles of the Rules of Golf — absolutely an acceptable score. Actually, if you play at 

least 10 holes, you can still have an acceptable 18-hole “score”. In 2024, the USGA will have a new process for posting any 

round with less than 18 holes but at least 9 holes. This requires hole-by-hole posting.  Please see the rules explained here. 

Just know if you don’t play at least 9 holes, you cannot post a score. So far, so good.  

 

S C O R E S   O N   A L L   C O U R S E S  

Both a USGA Course Rating and Slope Rating are required for a score to be posted.   

  

https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/2024-revision/2024-WHS-Change-Summaries-USGA.pdf


S C O R E S   I N   ALL   F O R M S   O F   C O M P E T I T I O N  

Scores in match play and stroke play must be posted for handicap purposes. You might ask how to address a stroke 

conceded in a match. Enter the concept of “most likely score.” This concept also applies in a four-ball (often called best 

ball) when a player picks up on a hole because he or she cannot better the partner's score. The most likely score is The 

number of strokes already taken to reach a position on a hole, plus the number of strokes the player would most likely 

require to complete the hole from that position, plus any penalty strokes incurred during the play of the hole. 

 

P R E F E R R E D   L I E S  

Scores made when playing preferred lies or winter rules result in acceptable scores for handicap purposes.  

 

B A D   R O U N D  

Please don’t think that a “bad” score should not be entered, as such a score might knock another score out of your scoring 

record and impact the calculation of the Handicap Index. The most current data is the best data. Plus, if your round was 

derailed by one or two "blow-up" holes, you will likely adjust your score according to your Max. Under the WHS rules, 

your MAX is Net Double Bogey (Double Bogey plus the strokes you would normally receive on that hole).  

  

There are only a few situations when a score is unacceptable for handicap purposes:  

• Do not post if you play alone.  

• When a player uses non-conforming clubs, non-conforming balls, or non-conforming tees,  

• When two balls are played throughout the round,  

• While not playing your own ball — think scramble, shamble, or foursomes (alternate shot).  

Didn't play a full 18? Kicked the round off with a breakfast ball? Here are some interesting situations that might come up 

next time you're on the course and how you should handle them for score-posting purposes:  

 

I live near a golf course, which allows me to squeeze in some holes after work. If I play by myself, can I post? What if my 

buddy joins me? What if I only play six holes?  

Do not post if you play alone. Since 2016, the USGA Handicap System determined that solo rounds are unacceptable for 

posting. More importantly, as of 1/1/24, you cannot post six holes, adding par plus strokes for the last three holes. If you 

don’t play 9, you can’t post. 

  



I have a standing tee time on Saturdays and match with my neighbor. On hot days, we often bail before we finish all 18 

holes. Should we post since we give more putts than we make? How many holes do we have to play to post an 18-hole 

score before we go in for a beer and a brat?  

Scores made during match play are acceptable rounds for posting if nine or more holes are played. Players should use their 

best judgment to determine their “most likely” score when a stroke or a putt is conceded. Enter your score hole-by-hole 

and leave those holes you did not finish blank. GHIN will compute an 18-hole differential for your round.  

  

On weekends, we have a standing agreement that on the 1st hole, we can use a mulligan for our tee shot. Do we add one 

stroke, or how do we score the first hole using a mulligan?  

Mulligans are not allowed under the Rules of Golf. Consider this a skipped hole, and leave the 1st hole blank when you post 

your score using the Hole-by-Hole method. GHIN will compute an 18-hole differential for your round.  

  

What if I have a really bad day and make an eight on a par three and a ten on a par 4? My Course Handicap is 15. My 

neighbor’s Course Handicap is 22.  

Use you Max when you have a bad hole. Your MAX on every hole is Net Double Bogey (Double Bogey plus any strokes 

you have on that hole). This mandatory procedure reduces high scores for handicap purposes to make your handicap more 

reflective of your playing ability. If you are using an app to keep and post your score, you can put in the 8 or 10 and the app 

will adjust and post your MAX score. 

  

What if we skip a couple of holes during our round because of slow play?  

If you play nine holes or more when you post your hole-by-hole score, leave those holes blank. You must actually play 

nine holes to post a score.  

  

What if I borrow my friend’s new driver during our round and decide to play the ball I striped down the middle of the 

fairway for just one hole?  

Your round is acceptable for posting, but leave that hole blank when you post your hole-by-hole score.  

 

What if it is a rainy day and our club has adopted “preferred lies” where we can bump the ball (lift, clean, and place)?  

Rounds posted when the club has adopted ‘preferred lies’ due to wet conditions are acceptable for posting and are to be 

posted.  

Q  

 

 



T O U R N A M E N T   F O R M A T S - S H O U L D   I  P O S T? 
 

Format of Play  Post ? Yes/No  Comments  

Individual Stroke  Yes  
Must complete 10 holes or more (all 9 for 9-

hole score). Post hole-by-hole scores. 

Individual Match  Yes  

Upon close of a match of having played at 

least 9- holes or more, the players have the 

option of leaving the remaining holes blank. If 

the match is still in progress and your 

opponent concedes a hole, post the score you 

most likely would have made on that hole or  

your Max, whichever is less.  

Four-ball (Better-ball) Stroke 

Play  
Yes  

The proper name of this format is Four-Ball; 

however, it is commonly referred to as better 

ball. By either name, you must post your 

score for handicapping purposes. In a stroke 

play format, if you are out of the hole and 

pick up to speed up play, put down the score 

you would most likely have made or your 

Max, whichever is less. For example, if your 

ball were no more than  

5 feet from the hole lying 5, your “most 

likely” score would be a 6. 

Four-ball(Better-ball) Match 

Play  
Yes  

Just as in match play format, you must post 

for handicapping purposes. If A & B are 

partners and A is putting for a 3 and makes it 
and player B has a 25-foot putt for a 4, player 

B should post a 5 for handicap purposes – i.e., 

the score most likely to have been taken for 
that hole – not to exceed your Max.  

Please Note: If the match ends before the 18th 

hole, and you have played 10 holes, do not fill 
in the remaining holes with Par plus strokes; 

instead, allow GHIN to calculate your 18-hole 
differential.    

Foursome (Scotch)  No  

In a foursome format (better known as Scotch) 

you will not post your scores for handicapping 

purposes. In this format you are not playing 

your own ball throughout the round  



Pinehurst/Chapman  No  

In the Pinehurst/Chapman format or any 

modification of this format, you are not 

playing your own ball throughout the round 

and therefore, you cannot post your score for 

handicapping purposes.  

Scramble  No  

Scramble formats cannot be posted for 

handicap purposes because you are not 

playing your own ball from the original spot 

in which the ball was hit throughout the 

round.  

Stableford/Point-Par Points  Yes  

With any type of point tournament, e.g., 

Stableford, Tin Whistle, etc., you must post 

your score for handicapping purposes. If you 

are out of the hole, follow the USGA posting 

procedure of the score you most likely would 

have made, not to exceed you Max.  

Eclectic Event  Yes  

With this event you must post all rounds for 

handicapping purposes. If you pick up on a 

hole you should follow the USGA posting 

procedures of posting the score you most 
likely would have made on that hole not to 

exceed Max.   

If there are any restrictions imposed by the 

committee such as limitation of number or 

types of clubs – e.g., irons- only event – the 

resulting score should not be posted for 

handicap purposes.  

 

 

 


	H A N D I C A P   H I N T S (2024)

